Sheared Bleed Nipple

All aspects of tuning,modification and repairs to the BX 16valve.
Dave
3000 rpm

Sheared Bleed Nipple

Post by Dave »

As per the title. I have a caliper but the nipple is sheared off. I am thinking about drilling and tapping it. Has anyone done this or even better, any ideas on how to get the thing out. Keeping it central may be a bit of an issue drilling.

The rest of the caliper is good so would be usable one sorted out.

I would just add this is on a ZX rear caliper so if anyone knows the size and pitch in advance it would be helpful.
Prefer it to the Lamborghini, like Signor Gandini!
Vanny
Web Support

Post by Vanny »

from my experience, buy Citroen bleed nipples!! God knows what there made of but there stupidly hard and very difficult to snap, twice the price of 'factor nipples (so like £1 each) but worth there weight.

Thus far i have never needed to drill and tap which is good because i'm not very good at taping holes out, i've always managed to either simple use another caliper (scrappy one for £5) or get the rest of the stud out. Prefered method is to screw into the remains of the nipple with a screw which is a tight fit, wind it back out (the theory i base this on is that it will expand the nipple a little and stop it being seized), then heat the whole thing up loads (off the car), let it cool naturally and then while still warm wind the stud out with an 'easy out'.

Have only had to do this a small number of times as i usually have a spare caliper on the shelf and put that on until i get chance to overhaul the rest of the caliper. The technique is developed from the advice of people on here so expect more usefull input :D
Timmo
Full Throttle

Post by Timmo »

only had to do it once on a 309 gti caliper, it is prolly easier to do vanny's way and get another caliper!!!