SuperCharging!

All aspects of tuning,modification and repairs to the BX 16valve.
tim leech
7000 rpm

SuperCharging!

Post by tim leech »

Anyone done it, is it possible or would the engine explode, reason I ask is that somoene at work has just done his VR6 Corrado with apparent ease and as my car has provision for A/C which has been removed I have a spare pulley going round doing nowt lol :wink:

As you know Im no mechanic but I thought I would ask.
Last edited by tim leech on Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cossie
4000 rpm

Post by cossie »

I got over the problem,and bought a Jag S type R
:D :D :twisted:
1988 16v

2002 S-Type "R" (rocket?)
tim leech
7000 rpm

Post by tim leech »

Thanks Cossie, I dont have that kind of money though!

Next!
Toddman
Administrator

SC

Post by Toddman »

Lots of threads about forced induction on here and the old forum Tim.
To do it properly you would need to spend a fair amount of cash - chances are you will have a fairly high mileage bottom end and really you woulkd want a lower compression but the 8v pistons give that easily.
IMHO you would need a bottom end rebuild and a stand alone ecu setup.

Cheers
Luke
Please call me Luke :)
1989 BX 16valve White 70k almost up to scratch
tim leech
7000 rpm

Post by tim leech »

Cheers luke, the engine on my car was rebuilt about 5000 miles ago after it threw a bearing, I do have a superchip aswell if this will make any difference.

Regarding lowering the compression Ive heard of fitting 2 headgaskets in the past? is thsi feasbale, also Im only thinking of if I do do it running low pressure 0.5 max, would the standard engine cope do you think? :shock:
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Practical Performance Car have covered the subject quite well in the past. The last few issues also contain a dedicated feature. The Feb/March issues could be what you're looking for.
There is a company that offers the conversion for about £2K.